Just a little crooked…

Isaac had his first haircut back in October (3 months ago). His hair was starting to look straggaley (is that a word?). It was falling in his eyes and hanging over his ears, so I thought that I might try to give him a little haircut. Nothing major, just a trim. Hmm, Doug has the scissors, but I have absolutely no idea what I am doing.  

So, I googled it. Yep, that’s what you do in 2013 when you want to learn something fast. 

I came across a few videos: How To Cut Toddler Hair at Home, watched a few, then felt a little more confident. One video suggested looking at the back of his hair in three sections. Bottom, cut at one finger length, middle at two finger length and next section 3 finger lengths. That really helped me to envision how long the back should be.

My strategy was this:

  • Cut his hair during a prime happy time – morning!
  • Distract him with his current favorite thing – PBS show called Super Why.
  • Use 2 bibs (one of them backwards) to keep the hair off his neck.
  • Cut the bangs first, trim around the ears next, and if then trim the back. That way if he only let me complete one thing, his hair would be out of his eyes.

photoI had all the items ready to go, so as soon as his show started, I buckled him in his highchair.photoHere are the BEFORE PICS: (Notice the I love this show face?)

photo  photophoto

AFTER PICS: (Still liking the show… quietest 25 minutes of the day!)

photo

photo photo

Overall I was pretty happy with how it turned out. A few of his bangs are too long and I might try to fix them up so they aren’t crooked. But, his hair is usually messy from playing and most of the time it’s pretty hard to tell.

Go Momma!

Anybody else tried to cut their kid’s hair? Go for it.

Leave a Reply

