Chicken Fricasse Julia Would Be Proud Of!

Just another Tuesday. Time to try a new recipe!

I have a crush on America’s Test Kitchen. Yeah, I have a crush on this TV show. You know how it is, snuggle-up-on-the couch-with-a-warm-blanket-on-a-Saturday-afternoon-during-naptime kinda crush

photoFor Christmas I got Season 12 DVD and Cookbook. It is the best because you can watch the episode (over and over) before you even make it yourself. So before making this dish, I had really watched it about 10 times. Crush, I tell you.

photo
Here is the recipe:
QUICK CHCKEN FRICASSE
Serves 4 to 6

Ingredients:
2 pounds boneless skinless chicken breasts (or thights), trimmed, with salt & pepper
1 T unsalted butter
1 T olive oil
1 lb. mushrooms, sliced
1/2 cup dry white wine
1 T all-purpose flour
1 garlic clove, minced
1 1/2 cups chicken broth
1/2 cup sour cream
1 large egg yolk
1/2 tsp ground nutmeg
2 tsp lemon juice
2 T minced tarragon (or parsley)

Directions:

1. Pat chicken dry with paper towels and season with 1 tsp. of salt and 1/2 tsp of pepper. Heat butter and oil in 12 in skillet over med-high heat until butter is melted. Place chicken in skillet and cook until browned, about 4 minutes. Using tongs, flip chicken and cook until browned on second side, about 4 minutes longer. Transfer chicken to plate.

2. Add mushrooms, onion, wine to now-empty skillet and cook, stirring occasionally, until liquid has evaporated and mushrooms are browned, 8 to 10 minutes. Add flour and garlic; cook, stirring constantly, 1 minute. Add broth and bring mixture to boil, scraping up any browned bits. Add chicken and any accumulated juices to skillet. reduce heat to medium-low, cover, and simmer until breasts register 160 degrees (thighs – 175 degrees), 5 to 10 minutes.

3. Transfer chicken to clean platter and tent loosely with aluminum foil. Whisk sour cream and egg yolk together in a bowl. Whisking constantly, slowly stir 1/2 cup hot sauce into sour cream mixture to temper. Stirring constantly, slowly pour cream mixture into simmering sauce. Stir in nutmeg, lemon juice, and tarragon; return to simmer. Season with salt and pepper to taste, pour sauce over chicken, and serve.

My experience:

So first of all the video of this looked easy and tasty. And, it was called a “great Tuesday night meal” meaning that is was doable after a day at work. It seemed worth a try! I bought all the ingredients I needed; tarragon was the only thing that I had never cooked with. I found it near the mushrooms in the small packets of refrigerated herbs.

I admit… I watched the 10 minute video one last time for a little bit of motivation.

photoI took it step by step and it was all pretty easy and smelled delicious! photo

photo

The book’s directions were simple!I whipped up some garlic mashed potatoes. The sauce paired well with them but may also taste fabulous over egg noodles. (I think I will try that next time).

banner.chickenfricasseBy the way, my husband said that it was “Excellent!” and he is a hard one to please when it comes to food. He even said, “It tastes like something would get at a restaurant!?” I have to admit that it was one of my best ever meals. It is a new staple here in Schraeradise.

Chicken Fricasse is a french recipe and I couldn’t help but think of Julia Child while I made this. I think she would be proud. If not her than Julie her stalk-blogger would!

Give it a try and let me know how you like it!

Leave a Reply

