Bag It Like I Stole It!

I adore Buy Buy Baby. The store came to Cincinnati the year before Isaac was born and I am SO GLAD! I registered there and had a great experience with them. They received returns off my register easily before Isaac was born and the whole year after (completely opposite of the other place I registered). Last week I returned a few gifted toys that I am not even sure were purchased there. They rock. The people are nice and helpful. Our store has a nursing room too, so it made it easy for me to make a trip when Isaac was itty bitty. They also sell great products. The carry some higher end brands that you cannot find at other baby stores, some that the quality is worth the investment. Stroller section alone is bigger than my house (at least it feels that way). To wrap it all up their coupons are incredible. They frequently mail $5 of a $15 purchase and 20% off an item and you can use as many as you want. They will also take coupons from competitors. Since the location is about 35 minutes from our house, I will usually save my coupons and make a list then optimize them before they expire. I wish I had kept track of all my savings because friends it is a lot.  I leave with a smile on my face feeling like beat the system somehow.

So last week I had a few returns and a pile of coupons that were set to expire. I decided it was time for a trip but only had a few items that I was looking for: a few self-feeding spoons, straw sippies, maybe some plates, possibly a birthday gift for Isaac’s girlfriend. They received all 3 toys and I had a gift receipt of $53 to spend. I loaded up on the items I new that I needed. I also was thinking about a new Skip Hop bottle/lunch bag. I was happy with the quality but mine was kinda stinky, so I picked up on of these too. It matches my beloved diaper bag which was in great shape, so I figured with $5 off coupon it was worth it.

Here is my diaper bag: The Skip Hop Duo

7342914923993PHere is the matching bottle/lunch bag: The Skip Hop 3 Bottle Thinsulate Bag7348614924370PLike I said, I have been super happy with these products. Durable, easy to clean, and simple. They don’t scream “I am for a baby” so I know that I can use them for a long time. I have thought about getting the the larger bag, the Duo Double, but at $79.99, I couldn’t justify another bag that I would only use rarely.  That was until I saw one with this little tag…

photo It is hard to read, but says the date of return was 9-17-2012 for a broken zipper. Original price $79.99 and Reduced Retail $30.98. I looked at the bag and saw no other defects, the middle zipper was open so I figured it was the reason for the return. I wasn’t sure I wanted to pay $30.98 even after coupon, so I carried it to the register with me to see what I could get. I figure my seamstress could fix the zipper for $10 or so, so if I could get them down to $20 (then another $5 off) it would be worth it. I asked the sales clerk if she would take $20 for it and she said she would have to call the manager. When the manager came I thought twice and asked her if she would reduce the price. She asked me the date, and since it had been over 3 months she cut the price in half!!! YES!!!  $14.50, people! After $5 coupon it was down to $9.50. Oh Em Gee!

So here is my new bag… photo photoOnce I got home, I tried out the middle zipper that I thought was broken and it worked! Turned out the broken zipper was on the side where there was a double zipper option, meaning only one of those zippers does not work! What? I don’t even have to get this baby fixed. Happy Momma, right here.

photoAnd, the baby was happy too 🙂
photo

Thanks Buy Buy Baby for treating me so good, you have a customer for life!

Leave a comment